H.B. 284 - Initiative Amendments


Sponsor: Rep. Jason B. Kyle
Floor Sponsor: Sen Lincoln Fillmore

Better Utah Position

– Oppose



Bill Status

– Did Not Pass


Contingent on the passage of H.J.R. 14, requires statewide initiatives that impose new taxes or increase tax rates to receive greater than 60% approval to pass; and requires statewide initiatives to include descriptions of how the proposed law will be funded, a description of new taxes or increased tax rates,a description of the amount and source of new revenues, and a description of existing line items or programs that will receive less funding in order to fund the proposed law and amount by which that funding will be reduced.

Passed in House; Passed in Senate Committee but died on Senate floor

Read More on the Utah Legislature website >>


Voted "Yes"
Vote Legislator District
Yes Sen. Kirk A. Cullimore Republican SD19
Yes Sen Lincoln Fillmore Republican SD17
Yes Sen. Don L. Ipson Republican SD29
Yes Sen. Daniel McCay Republican SD18
Yes Sen. Chris H. Wilson Republican SD2
Voted "No"
Vote Legislator District
No Sen. Curtis S. Bramble Republican SD24
No Sen. Luz Escamilla Democrat SD10
No Sen. Wayne A. Harper Republican SD16
Officially Absent
Vote Legislator District
Didn't Get to Vote
Vote Legislator District
N/A Sen. Heidi Balderree Democrat SD22
N/A Sen. Jen Plumb Democrat SD9
N/A Sen. Stephanie Pitcher Democrat SD14
N/A Sen. Karen Kwan Democrat SD12
N/A Sen. Nate Blouin Democrat SD13
N/A Sen. Michael S. Kennedy Republican SD21
N/A Sen. John D. Johnson Republican SD3
N/A Sen. Evan J. Vickers Republican SD28
N/A Sen. David P. Hinkins Republican SD26
N/A Sen. Ronald Winterton Republican SD20
N/A Sen. Todd Weiler Republican SD8
N/A Sen. J. Stuart Adams Republican SD7
N/A Sen. Jerry W. Stevenson Republican SD6
N/A Sen. David G. Buxton Republican SD4
N/A Sen. Ann Millner Republican SD5
N/A Sen. Scott D. Sandall Republican SD1
N/A Sen. Keith Grover Republican SD23
N/A Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher Republican SD11
N/A Sen. Kathleen Riebe Democrat SD15
N/A Sen. Michael K. Mckell Republican SD25
N/A Sen. Derrin R. Owens Republican SD27