S.B. 273 - Amendments Related to District Attorney in County of the First Class


Sponsor: Sen. Jerry W. Stevenson
Floor Sponsor: Rep. Karianne Lisonbee


Good Government


Better Utah Position

– Oppose



Bill Status

– Did Not Pass


Requires the Salt Lake County District Attorney’s Office to track time spent by prosecutors on each criminal case, the average amount of taxpayer dollars spent per case, and the cumulative total hours worked and the number of cases in certain categories; and allows the Revitalization Zone Committee established under S.B. 272 to recommend to the Utah Supreme Court that it appoint a replacement prosecutor to prosecute crimes within the project area in place of the district attorney if the committee determines, by majority vote in a public meeting, that the district attorney has failed or refused to adequately prosecute crimes within the project area.

Passed in Senate and House

Read More on the Utah Legislature website >>


Voted "Yes"
Vote Legislator District
Yes Sen. Heidi Balderree Democrat SD22
Yes Sen. Curtis S. Bramble Republican SD24
Yes Sen. David G. Buxton Republican SD4
Yes Sen. Kirk A. Cullimore Republican SD19
Yes Sen Lincoln Fillmore Republican SD17
Yes Sen. Keith Grover Republican SD23
Yes Sen. Wayne A. Harper Republican SD16
Yes Sen. David P. Hinkins Republican SD26
Yes Sen. Don L. Ipson Republican SD29
Yes Sen. John D. Johnson Republican SD3
Yes Sen. Michael S. Kennedy Republican SD21
Yes Sen. Daniel McCay Republican SD18
Yes Sen. Michael K. Mckell Republican SD25
Yes Sen. Ann Millner Republican SD5
Yes Sen. Derrin R. Owens Republican SD27
Yes Sen. Scott D. Sandall Republican SD1
Yes Sen. Jerry W. Stevenson Republican SD6
Yes Sen. Evan J. Vickers Republican SD28
Yes Sen. Todd Weiler Republican SD8
Yes Sen. Chris H. Wilson Republican SD2
Yes Sen. Ronald Winterton Republican SD20
Voted "No"
Vote Legislator District
No Sen. Nate Blouin Democrat SD13
No Sen. Luz Escamilla Democrat SD10
No Sen. Karen Kwan Democrat SD12
No Sen. Stephanie Pitcher Democrat SD14
No Sen. Jen Plumb Democrat SD9
No Sen. Kathleen Riebe Democrat SD15
No Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher Republican SD11
Officially Absent
Vote Legislator District
Didn't Get to Vote
Vote Legislator District
N/A Sen. J. Stuart Adams Republican SD7