S.B. 224 - Energy Independence Amendments


Sponsor: Sen. Scott D. Sandall
Floor Sponsor: Rep. Carl R. Albrecht


Better Utah Position

– Oppose



Bill Status

– Did Not Pass


In addition to establishing a “Utah Fire Fund” to allow utilities to recover costs associated with wildfires, allows electrical utilities such as Rocky Mountain Power to petition the Public Service Commission to recover costs for existing coal-fired power plants in order to keep those facilities running when neighboring states stop paying for their ongoing operation and maintenance; additionally, changes the factors considered by the Public Service Commission when making decisions on connecting or closing energy resources, including the presumption that the costs of “proven dispatchable generation resources” are reasonable.

Passed in Senate and House

Read More on the Utah Legislature website >>


Voted "Yes"
Vote Legislator District
Yes Sen. J. Stuart Adams Republican SD7
Yes Sen. Heidi Balderree Democrat SD22
Yes Sen. Curtis S. Bramble Republican SD24
Yes Sen. David G. Buxton Republican SD4
Yes Sen. Kirk A. Cullimore Republican SD19
Yes Sen. Keith Grover Republican SD23
Yes Sen. Wayne A. Harper Republican SD16
Yes Sen. David P. Hinkins Republican SD26
Yes Sen. Don L. Ipson Republican SD29
Yes Sen. John D. Johnson Republican SD3
Yes Sen. Michael S. Kennedy Republican SD21
Yes Sen. Daniel McCay Republican SD18
Yes Sen. Michael K. Mckell Republican SD25
Yes Sen. Derrin R. Owens Republican SD27
Yes Sen. Scott D. Sandall Republican SD1
Yes Sen. Jerry W. Stevenson Republican SD6
Yes Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher Republican SD11
Yes Sen. Evan J. Vickers Republican SD28
Yes Sen. Todd Weiler Republican SD8
Yes Sen. Chris H. Wilson Republican SD2
Yes Sen. Ronald Winterton Republican SD20
Voted "No"
Vote Legislator District
No Sen. Nate Blouin Democrat SD13
No Sen. Luz Escamilla Democrat SD10
No Sen. Karen Kwan Democrat SD12
No Sen. Stephanie Pitcher Democrat SD14
No Sen. Jen Plumb Democrat SD9
No Sen. Kathleen Riebe Democrat SD15
Officially Absent
Vote Legislator District
Absent Sen Lincoln Fillmore Republican SD17
Absent Sen. Ann Millner Republican SD5
Didn't Get to Vote
Vote Legislator District