S.B. 161 - Energy Security Amendments


Sponsor: Sen. Derrin R. Owens
Floor Sponsor: Rep. Carl R. Albrecht


Better Utah Position

– Oppose



Bill Status

– Did Not Pass


Provides the State of Utah a two-year option to purchase for fair market value the coal-fired Intermountain Power Project near Delta, Utah once it is decommissioned and creates the Decommissioned Asset Disposition Authority within the Office of Energy Development to provide recommendations to the Governor and Legislature regarding such a purchase, govern the power plant, if purchased, submit a new air quality permit for the continued operation of the power plant, and eventually resell the decommissioned asset to a new operator.

Passed in Senate and House

Read More on the Utah Legislature website >>


Voted "Yes"
Vote Legislator District
Yes Sen. J. Stuart Adams Republican SD7
Yes Sen. Curtis S. Bramble Republican SD24
Yes Sen. David G. Buxton Republican SD4
Yes Sen. Kirk A. Cullimore Republican SD19
Yes Sen. Keith Grover Republican SD23
Yes Sen. Wayne A. Harper Republican SD16
Yes Sen. David P. Hinkins Republican SD26
Yes Sen. Don L. Ipson Republican SD29
Yes Sen. John D. Johnson Republican SD3
Yes Sen. Michael S. Kennedy Republican SD21
Yes Sen. Daniel McCay Republican SD18
Yes Sen. Michael K. Mckell Republican SD25
Yes Sen. Ann Millner Republican SD5
Yes Sen. Derrin R. Owens Republican SD27
Yes Sen. Scott D. Sandall Republican SD1
Yes Sen. Jerry W. Stevenson Republican SD6
Yes Sen. Chris H. Wilson Republican SD2
Yes Sen. Ronald Winterton Republican SD20
Voted "No"
Vote Legislator District
No Sen. Heidi Balderree Democrat SD22
No Sen. Nate Blouin Democrat SD13
No Sen Lincoln Fillmore Republican SD17
No Sen. Karen Kwan Democrat SD12
No Sen. Stephanie Pitcher Democrat SD14
No Sen. Jen Plumb Democrat SD9
No Sen. Kathleen Riebe Democrat SD15
No Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher Republican SD11
No Sen. Evan J. Vickers Republican SD28
No Sen. Todd Weiler Republican SD8
Officially Absent
Vote Legislator District
Absent Sen. Luz Escamilla Democrat SD10
Didn't Get to Vote
Vote Legislator District