H.B. 261 - Equal Opportunity Initiatives


Sponsor: Rep. Katy Hall
Floor Sponsor: Sen. Keith Grover

Better Utah Position

– Oppose



Bill Status

– Passed


Broadly prohibits “diversity, equity, and inclusion” statements, submissions, practices, programs, and initiatives based on “prohibited discriminatory practices” in state and local government entities, including public higher education institutions, instead requiring the establishment of “student success and support” centers or positions that provide support, guidance, and resources to all students, including those at higher risk of not completing a certificate or degree; for higher education institutions, also requires the online publishing of the syllabi of all mandatory courses, seminars, classes, workshops, and training sessions, annual employee training on the separations of personal political advocacy from an institution’s business and employment activities, the development of strategies to promote viewpoint diversity on campuses, the establishment of policies and procedures to include opportunities for education and research on free speech and civic education, and an annual “campus expression climate survey” to measure student and faculty “perception of and experience with an institution’s campus environment”.

Passed in House and Senate

Signed by Governor Cox 1/30/24

Read More on the Utah Legislature website >>


Voted "Yes"
Vote Legislator District
Yes Sen. J. Stuart Adams Republican SD7
Yes Sen. Heidi Balderree Democrat SD22
Yes Sen. Curtis S. Bramble Republican SD24
Yes Sen. David G. Buxton Republican SD4
Yes Sen. Kirk A. Cullimore Republican SD19
Yes Sen Lincoln Fillmore Republican SD17
Yes Sen. Keith Grover Republican SD23
Yes Sen. Wayne A. Harper Republican SD16
Yes Sen. David P. Hinkins Republican SD26
Yes Sen. Don L. Ipson Republican SD29
Yes Sen. John D. Johnson Republican SD3
Yes Sen. Michael S. Kennedy Republican SD21
Yes Sen. Daniel McCay Republican SD18
Yes Sen. Michael K. Mckell Republican SD25
Yes Sen. Ann Millner Republican SD5
Yes Sen. Derrin R. Owens Republican SD27
Yes Sen. Scott D. Sandall Republican SD1
Yes Sen. Jerry W. Stevenson Republican SD6
Yes Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher Republican SD11
Yes Sen. Evan J. Vickers Republican SD28
Yes Sen. Todd Weiler Republican SD8
Yes Sen. Chris H. Wilson Republican SD2
Yes Sen. Ronald Winterton Republican SD20
Voted "No"
Vote Legislator District
No Sen. Nate Blouin Democrat SD13
No Sen. Luz Escamilla Democrat SD10
No Sen. Karen Kwan Democrat SD12
No Sen. Stephanie Pitcher Democrat SD14
No Sen. Jen Plumb Democrat SD9
No Sen. Kathleen Riebe Democrat SD15
Officially Absent
Vote Legislator District
Didn't Get to Vote
Vote Legislator District