H.B. 207 - Insulin Access Amendments


Sponsor: Rep. Norman K. Thurston
Floor Sponsor: Sen. Deidre M. Henderson


Better Utah Position

– Support



Bill Status

– Passed

Bill Timeline

  • 2/25/20- Passed House
  • 3/10/20- Passed Senate
  • 3/30/20- Governor signed


Creates an incentive for health benefit plans to reduce the required copayments for insulin, directs the Public Employees’ Benefit and Insurance Program to purchase insulin in bulk, increases the number of days for which an insulin prescription can be refilled, and authorizes a pharmacist to refill an expired insulin prescription.

Read More on the Utah Legislature website >>


Voted "Yes"
Vote Legislator District
Yes Sen. J. Stuart Adams Republican SD7
Yes Sen. Curtis S. Bramble Republican SD24
Yes Sen. David G. Buxton Republican SD4
Yes Sen. Kirk A. Cullimore Republican SD19
Yes Sen. Gene Davis Democrat SD3
Yes Sen. Luz Escamilla Democrat SD10
Yes Sen Lincoln Fillmore Republican SD17
Yes Sen. Keith Grover Republican SD23
Yes Sen. Wayne A. Harper Republican SD16
Yes Sen. Deidre M. Henderson Republican SD7
Yes Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard Republican SD25
Yes Sen. David P. Hinkins Republican SD26
Yes Sen. Don L. Ipson Republican SD29
Yes Sen. Jani Iwamoto Democrat SD4
Yes Sen. Derek L. Kitchen Democrat SD2
Yes Sen. Karen Mayne Democrat SD5
Yes Sen. Daniel McCay Republican SD18
Yes Sen. Ralph Okerlund Republican SD24
Yes Sen. Kathleen Riebe Democrat SD15
Yes Sen. Scott D. Sandall Republican SD1
Yes Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher Republican SD11
Yes Sen. Evan J. Vickers Republican SD28
Yes Sen. Todd Weiler Republican SD8
Yes Sen. Ronald Winterton Republican SD20
Voted "No"
Vote Legislator District
Officially Absent
Vote Legislator District
Absent Sen. Jacob L. Anderegg Republican SD22
Absent Sen. Allen M. Christensen Republican SD19
Absent Sen. Daniel Hemmert Republican SD14
Absent Sen. Ann Millner Republican SD5
Absent Sen. Jerry W. Stevenson Republican SD6
Didn't Get to Vote
Vote Legislator District
N/A Sen. Derrin R. Owens Republican SD27