H.B. 11 - Student Eligibility in Interscholastic Activities


Sponsor: Rep. Kera Birkeland
Floor Sponsor: Sen. Curtis S. Bramble


Equal Rights


Better Utah Position

– Oppose



Bill Status

– Passed


Prohibits transgender girls from participating in school sports activities, but if that ban is overturned by a court, then it creates a commission that would set baseline physical characteristics for participating in such sports and determine whether transgender students are eligible to play based on those standards.

Notes: Vote to override Governor Spencer Cox’s veto used for scoring of H.B. 11. Sen. Dan McCay was scored as if he was a sponsor of the bill because he introduced the substitute version that was passed by the Legislature. Rep. Angela Romero was absent for the veto override vote, but had previously voted against H.B. 11.

Read More on the Utah Legislature website >>


Voted "Yes"
Vote Legislator District
Yes Sen. J. Stuart Adams Republican SD7
Yes Sen. Jacob L. Anderegg Republican SD22
Yes Sen. Curtis S. Bramble Republican SD24
Yes Sen. David G. Buxton Republican SD4
Yes Sen. Kirk A. Cullimore Republican SD19
Yes Sen Lincoln Fillmore Republican SD17
Yes Sen. Keith Grover Republican SD23
Yes Sen. Wayne A. Harper Republican SD16
Yes Sen. David P. Hinkins Republican SD26
Yes Sen. Don L. Ipson Republican SD29
Yes Sen. John D. Johnson Republican SD3
Yes Sen. Michael S. Kennedy Republican SD21
Yes Sen. Daniel McCay Republican SD18
Yes Sen. Michael K. Mckell Republican SD25
Yes Sen. Ann Millner Republican SD5
Yes Sen. Derrin R. Owens Republican SD27
Yes Sen. Scott D. Sandall Republican SD1
Yes Sen. Jerry W. Stevenson Republican SD6
Yes Sen. Evan J. Vickers Republican SD28
Yes Sen. Chris H. Wilson Republican SD2
Yes Sen. Ronald Winterton Republican SD20
Voted "No"
Vote Legislator District
No Sen. Gene Davis Democrat SD3
No Sen. Luz Escamilla Democrat SD10
No Sen. Jani Iwamoto Democrat SD4
No Sen. Derek L. Kitchen Democrat SD2
No Sen. Karen Mayne Democrat SD5
No Sen. Kathleen Riebe Democrat SD15
No Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher Republican SD11
No Sen. Todd Weiler Republican SD8
Officially Absent
Vote Legislator District
Didn't Get to Vote
Vote Legislator District